Paris today, Dublin Tomorrow, then 1,000km of Bicycle Exploration in Western Ireland

Today I’m having lunch in Paris.  Tomorrow, it’s dinner in Dublin!  Then, after an evening touring the city of James Joyce and Samuel Beckett and a good night’s sleep, I’ll head north-west to Sligo (also called “Yeats Country” since the poet WB Yeats spent his childhood there.  This land of waterfalls and cliffs, mountains and beaches, and rolling hills, Yeats called “the country of the heart.”

Atlantic coast of Ireland, with soaring cliffs, beaches, waterfalls, and hilly terrain. I will cover 80km-90km of this region per day on bicycle.

From Sligo, I’ll began a 10-day solo bicycling tour, riding 80km to 90km per day.  I will stop to take photos, learn about the culture, the history, and literary heritage of this region of Ireland.

Each day, after my exertion, I’ll stop at one of the auberges, or beds-and-breakfasts (chosen by the operator of the tour company), and sleep until the first light of dawn.  Then, it’s back on the bicycle!  I will have ridden close to 1,000km by the end of the tour.

Please follow along with my journey by checking back with my blog, my Facebook page, and/or on CulturalBook.com.

The region I will discover is described as one of the most beautiful, and least explored regions of Ireland.

One thought on “Paris today, Dublin Tomorrow, then 1,000km of Bicycle Exploration in Western Ireland

Leave a Reply

