♡ The Beauty of Paperback Books ♡ (codex vs kindle)

I am so far away from civilization (viz., “places where they print books” …at least my books, in English).  Here I am in my hideout bunker just outside of Paris; and Monsieur the Postman just paid me a visit… he brought me what I’ve been waiting years to see… paperback copies of my latest (and greatest) novel...The Wanderess“…

First Page of The Wanderess (paperback version); published Nov 2013, chez Aesthete Press

First Page of The Wanderess (paperback version); published Nov 2013, chez Aesthete Press

…It is so beautiful!  How I love paperback books!, much more than hardcover books.  It is a format that began to flourish around the 4th Century AD… that’s when the “codex” began replacing the scroll.  Now, 1700 years later they are trying to replace the codex with “Kindles.”  I thought it would never work.  Yet Kindle versions of my books are outselling the paperback versions 10 to 1!

So, for every one person who gets to enjoy my latest novel the way it was meant to be enjoyed, ten poor souls are reading my prose in inkless ink.  It’s a shame.  It’s enough to make me want to change professions.  Maybe I’ll direct films… at least ugly VHS tape never replaced old-fashioned film.

Any ideas on how to make people give up their Kindle versions and read the paperback?

– Roman

One thought on “♡ The Beauty of Paperback Books ♡ (codex vs kindle)

  1. Ooh!!! That’s beautiful. Sales, however are directly related to the price tag. Congratulations on your accomplishment. And a huge hug from across the ocean. Isn’t it just awesome to actually touch it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

